Our City

Skidel is a town situated in Grodno district of Grodno region in Belarus on Skidlianka river in 30 km to the East from Grodno.

It is assumed that Skidel was founded in 1508. You can find Skidel in documents dated from the 16th century as a grand-ducal court in Grodno district in the Great Principality of Lithuania. For a long time the town was a possession of Radzivill princely kin. In 1795 the town formed a part of Russian Empire. From 1921 till 1939 it was part of Poland. Skidel got its status of a town in 1974.

As all the small towns, Skidel enjoys silence and tranquility that are rarely broken, and that is mainly by weddings. Besides that, Skidel has its own sights, historical and not that much historical.

Among Skidel attractions pay attention to the catholic church of the 19th century. On the opposite site of the church there once was the estate of Antonovich-Chetvertinskys. Now only the park and the gate in the form of two round towers are left of it. The towers are of different height and they have hipped tops and lancet apertures. It is the gate that you can see on the symbol of the town.

The population of the town is 10 thousand inhabitants. Here the Belarusian poet Mikhas Vasiliok (Mikhail Kostevich) was born. 10 km from Skidel you can find the village of Milkovshchina – the birthplace of the famous Polish writer Elisa Ozheshko. Skidel is also the ethnic motherland of the English lord Robert Skidelsky of Tilton, a famous economist, the counsellor of Margaret Thatcher, the Prime Minister of Great Britain. One of his Belarusian ancestors, Lev Skidelsky, lived in Skidel two centuries ago. During the First World War their family got spread from Shanghai to London. Lord Robert decided to establish his line and visited his ethnic motherland not long ago.

The town celebrates its holiday — the Day of Skidel — at the beginning of September. In 2008 the town celebrated in style its 500th anniversary.

There are about 15 industrial enterprises in the town. Nevertheless, the real fame Skidel got from the Skidel Sugar Factory. It was built in 1951 and became the first Belarusian sugar producing enterprise.

Today Skidel is a small yet cosy town with well-developed infrastructure and hospitable people.

Do you like our town? Have a look at our restauraunt and hotel.

Наш город

Скидель — город, расположенный в Гродненском районе Гродненской области в Беларуси на реке Скидлянка, в 30 км к востоку от Гродно.

Принято считать датой основания Скиделя 1508 год. В документах Скидель встречается с 16 века как великокняжеский двор в Гродненском повете Великого княжества Литовского. Долгое время город был владением княжеского рода Радзивиллов. В 1795 году город входит в состав Российской империи. В 1921-1939 годы город был в составе Польши. Скидель обрел городской статус в 1974 году.

Как и все небольшие города, Скидель   может гордиться тишиной и спокойствием, которые нарушаются крайне редко и главным образом — свадьбами. Кроме того, в Скиделе есть свои достопримечательности, исторические и не очень.

Среди скидельских достопримечательностей отметим католический храм (19 век), напротив храма располагалась усадьба Антоновичей-Четвертинских, от которой сегодня сохранился только парк и брама в виде двух круглых башен разной высоты с шатровыми верхами и стрельчатыми проемами. Именно она отображена на городском гербе.

Население города составляет свыше 10 тысяч жителей. Здесь родился белорусский поэт Михась Василек (Михаил Костевич), в 10 км от Скиделя расположена деревня Мильковщина — родина известной польской писательницы Элизы Ожешко. Скидель является этнической родиной и английского лорда Роберта Скидельски оф Тилтона — известного экономиста, в прошлом советника премьер-министра Великобритании Маргарет Тэтчер. Один из его белорусских предков, Лев Скиделски, жил в Скиделе 2 века назад. Во время Первой мировой войны их семью разбросало от Шанхая до Лондона. Лорд Роберт решил составить свою родословную и недавно побывал на своей этнической родине.

Городской праздник — День города в Скиделе отмечают в начале сентября. В 2008 году город с размахом отметил свое 500-летие.

В городе работают около 15 промышленных предприятий. Однако настоящую славу Скиделю принес Скидельский сахарный комбинат. Построенный в 1951году, завод стал первым белорусским сахарным производством.

Сегодня Скидель — это маленький, но уютный город с развитой инфраструктурой и гостеприимными жителями.

Понравился наш город? Посмотрите наш ресторан и гостиницу.